It pays to look behind you. By Cheri

NOTE: This is a fictional story

One of the the things I have learned is to look behind yourself and be all ears to listen and be aware of everything that is going on. Never was that more obvious than on this day. I was coming home from an appointment. excited about closing a big deal and looking forward to getting inside and enjoying a nice Gin & Tonic to celebrate. I was about to open the door to my home when I feel a metal object being jabbed into my side and a very sinister  sounding individual saying “Hands up. Don’t make a sound. Inside your house. Quickly!”

Then he pushes me very forcefully into my home. I am propelled several feet forward. He comes in with apparently another invidividual who grabs my hands and hold them solidly at my sides.

The apparent leader is now in front o me wearing a Bill Clinton mask. He voice is slightly muffled and husky. He appeared mean and wanted to rob me. Such was the case.

“Where is your safe? You give us money and jewels and we won’t harm you. Understand?” He demands.

I of course said yes and told them to follow me.

“Does he have to hold me so tight?” I said about the second man. “Uh, where am I going to run to with you two in  here?”

He motions to the second man to unman me. I look at him. He has a George W. Bush mask on. I think great. I am being assaulted by Presidents.

“Stop looking at us lady. We want jewels and money and we will be on our way.”

“Ok. Follow me.” And with that I walk  towards the bedroom.

“It’s behind that large picture. They are my grandparents.”

I move the picture to the side, work the combination and open the safe.. Once open, the leader pushes me aside and starts pouring cash, gold coins, jewelry and other items in a bag. The other good is going around my bedroom grabbing diamond rings, necklaces, more jewlery and whatever else he could find. They left me alone but kept a careful eye on me.

As the leader watched me I said, “Go ahead take everything. It’s all insure. But I’m not. Just don’t hurt me. Ok?”

“Just shut up lady and you won’t get hurt.”

“Ok. I’ll be quiet. I’m scared. I don;t want to die.”

The leader comes over to me, pushes me downt o the floor and tells me to put my head facedown on the bed while I am on my knees.

“Not stay down and shut the hell up.” He orders.

The other man goes into one of our closets and find boxes loaded with jewelry. More of my stuff as well as some of Harry’s diamond  cuff links, rings, and many valuable items.

“Are you taking everything!” I protested

“It’s insured isn’t  it?” The leader stated.

“Yes, but some of those things are irreplaceable. Like college rings, sports medals that my husband won and…”
Shut up lady. We      don;t feel very sentimental. We want money and these things will bring us lots of dough. Now shut up and let us work!”

“This carpet is not that thick. Hard on my knees. Can I at least grab a pillow?”

“SHUT UP!”

“Hey why so mean? I have done everything you asked. All I want is a pillow for my knees. This hurts me.”

Without answering they continue the robbery looting around my home tkaing things. One of them stayed with me n the bedroom and watched me carefully so I didn’t grab the phone.

“So far you are being a good lady. You haven’t tried to fight us or scream. Good girl. We don’t want to hurt you, but we wil if we have to.”

I sigh in disgust and watch them from the side of my eyes hoping this will be over soon.

The leader is counting the cash and is very dissappointed.

“Only $2,000 in cash? Where is the money?” He yells.

“Well if I had known that I was going to be robbed, I would have stopped at a ATM or at the bank and made a withdrawal.” I said sarcastically.

 

Then I remember that Harold keeps a gun under the bed. Hmmmm. If I could reach it…

The one  character with the Bush mask keeps looting around while the leader sneaks up behind me, handgags me and   says,

“Ok Miss Pillow. SHUT THE HELL UP! You are annoying me. We need to work.”

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmfffffff was my only response.

I start reaching under the bed trying to find the gun.

The leader yells, “Hey what are you doing?”

I grab the gun while the other one says, “hey…she’s searching something…check out!”

My hands are still under the bed they can;t see that I have the gun in my hand.

The leader pulls me away and sees what I have in my hand.

“She has a gun.”

I say, “Ok jackass, guess who is in charge now. Now you get down on your knees, all of you.”

He hits me on the side to try to disarm me, but fails.

I say, “You SOB!” And point the gun at him.

I look for the other guy. Unbeknowst to me he got behind me and knocks me on the head with a heavy metal tray which me down and unconscious.

When I wake up, I am in the closet, bound and gagged.  Meanwhile the two goons are still looting our home while I sit there helpless and with a very sore head which I can’t even rub because my hands are tied.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment